Why europe
Luca De Biase Portrait

Luca De Biase is chief editor at Nòva24 – Il sole 24 Ore, the innovation section in the main financial newspaper in Italy, which he founded in 2005 and chief editor at La Vita Nòva, award winning tablet magazine. Luca is “innovation journalism” visiting professor at Padua University and “digital humanities” visiting professor at Pisa University; member of the Scientific Committee at master in sciences communications at Sissa Trieste.

He contributes to the Edge.org Annual Question, since 2012. He is co-founder of the association ItaliaStartup, member of the Advisory Board of Human Foundation, member of the Board of Trustees at Nexa and member of the Commission for rights and duties on the internet, Chamber of Deputies at the Italian Parliament. He has been member of the Big Data task force at Ministero Istruzione, Università, Ricerca and of the permenent committee for innovation and the Italian digital agenda, 2014-2015, advisor to the Prime Minister for the Digital Agenda in 2013-14. In 2012, Luca has been working with the Italian Ministry for Economic Development in a task force aimed at improving the innovative-startup ecosystem. He has been member of the Digital Agenda Scientific Commission in Emilia Romagna. Luca has been member of the Startup commission in Regione Lazio and Assolombarda; in 2013-16. He has been chairman at Ahref Foundation, research center about quality of information in digital media, since the start in 2010 until April 2014.

The Media Ecology Association awarded Luca with The James W. Carey Award for Outstanding Media Ecology Journalism 2016; Luca has also been awarded Assobiotec Media Award 2016, Premio Web Italia 2012, Premio Città Impresa Fabbricatore di idee 2012, Premio Cultura di Rete 2007, Premio Sele d’Oro 1994. La Vita Nòva has been awarded a number of prizes: Moebius 2011, The Lovie Awards 2011, M20, Spd, iTunes Rewind 2011.

De Biase has written several books. The latest are: Come saremo, Codice 2016. Homo pluralis, Codice 2015. Media civici, Feltrinelli 2012. Cambiare pagina, Rizzoli 2011. Economia della felicità, Feltrinelli 2007.